Vegan Wines - Australia - Dry White Wines and Vegan Red Wines

Welcome to Harris Organic. Thank you for your interest in our Australian Vegan wines.


Harris Organic is the only organic winery in Perth making vegan wines.

Harris Organic - Wines for Australian Vegans

What Is a Vegan Diet?

A vegan diet can be viewed as a reduced ingredient food list of vegetarianism.
Veganism is defined by the Vegan Society as a way of living. Vegans attempt to exclude all forms of animal exploitation and cruelty as much as possible by not eating their products. Therefore, a vegan diet excludes animal flesh, but also dairy, eggs and animal-derived ingredients. These include gelatin, honey, carmine, pepsin, albumin, whey, casein and some forms of vitamin D. Vegans exclude meat from their diets for health or environmental reasons.

However, vegans also choose to avoid all animal by-products because they believe this has the largest impact on their health and the environment. In terms of ethics, vegetarians are opposed to killing animals for food, but consider it acceptable to consume animal by-products such as milk and eggs, as long as the animals are kept inadequate conditions.

Check out this page regarding what is a Vegan Diet. Vegans believe that animals have a right to be free from human use, be it for food, clothing, science or entertainment. We have been lead to believe they seek to exclude all animal by-products, regardless of the conditions in which animals are bred or housed.

The desire to avoid all forms of animal exploitation is why vegans choose to forgo dairy and eggs — products that many vegetarians have no problem-consuming.

Why is wine not vegan?

Non vegan wines will contain additives derived or made from animal products. These may be eggs, milk, fish bladder and other ingredients.

Vegan Wines

As you know organic wine is made from organic grapes, it is fermented grape juice. Yeasts, either natural or cultured, convert the grape juice sugars into alcohol. So far this all seems to be vegan-friendly. The reason that all wines are not vegan-friendly has to do with how the wine is clarified and a process called ‘fining’.

All young wines are hazy and contain tiny molecules such as proteins, tartrates, tannins and phenolics. These are all-natural and not harmful. However, the buying public like their organic wine to be clear and bright.
Therefore, Vegan friendly wines have no additive derived or made from animal products.

At Harris Organic all our additives are vegan friendly. They are additives made from vegetables or are mineral-based additives.

Most wines, if left long enough, will self-stabilize and self-fine. However, traditionally producers have used a variety of aids called ‘fining agents’ to help the process along.
Fining agents help precipitate out these haze-inducing molecules. They coagulate around the fining agent, creating fewer but larger particles, which can then be more easily removed. Traditionally the most commonly used fining agents were skim milk powder, egg whites, and isinglass (fish bladder protein).

These fining agents are known as processing aids. They are additives to the wine, as they are precipitated out along with the haze molecules.


Is red wine vegan?

It is possible organic red wine can be vegan friendly, however it depends on the winemaker's additives and the ideology of the natural winemaker. For example bio-dynamic wines are not vegan. Common additives in red wines can be found on our additive page. These may be eggs, milk, fish bladder and other non-vegan friendly ingredients.


Is white wine vegan?

It is possible white wine came be vegan friendly, however it depends on the winemaker's additives and the ideology of the winemaker. For example bio-dynamic wines are not vegan. Common additives in white wines can be found on our additive page.


Conclusion

Wines for Vegans

At Harris Organic Wine and Spirits you can happily enjoy dairy free, vegan friendly wines and organic spirits produced on the only certified organic block of land in Perth and know that they are not hurting any animals. We are making organic vegan wines including vegan chardonnay, verdehlo, syrah, malbec. dessert wines and vegan chenin blanc as good food and wine for vegans.


Vegan white wine - Chenin Blanc
chenin blanc

This is made from our dry-grown organic chenin blanc and is a full flavoured wine. Light straw colour. Aromas of ripe pineapple and stone fruit. A rich, sweet, rounded palate with fresh acidity holding the developed fruit together. Go to the Wine Shop and buy now whilst stocks last.

Vegan Chardonnay
Chardonnay

Made from plump chardonnay dry-grown at the Harris Organic vineyard in the Swan Valley, Western Australia. This wine has aged beautifully under its cork seal for several years in an underground cellar. Go to the Wine Shop and buy now.

  • Form one Organic Vineyard
  • Organic Vegan Wine
  • Organic Chardonnay vineyard

Vegan White Wines

Vegan Verdelho
Verdelho

This essential vegan verdelho is a great example of rich Swan Valley fruit. The nose promises with tropical flavours and some great bottle development with some toasty character as a character of bottle ageing. The dry palate delivers a fullsomely rich and complex dry organic wine with ripe fruity flavours and a clean finish. Buy from our vegan online shop today.

Vegan Shiraz
Vegan red wine
vegan shiraz

Shiraz is a great Australian wine grape, that thrives in the Swan Valley. This vegan red wine was basket pressed, aged in French oak for 20 months with excellent smoothness and berry flavours just likes its predecessors. Only 800 bottles of this organic vegan red wine was made, so if you want some better purchase quickly. Check out the Vegan Wine Shop today.

  • Organic Vegan Wine Cask
  • Organic Vegan Red Wines
  • Organic Vegan winemaker

What we do ?

Vegan Winemaking
Harris Organic is the only certified organic winery in Perth.
Organic Vegan Wine list
Harris Organic is the only certified organic winery in Perth.

Harris Organic Wines has a fine selection of Vegan wines to choose from.
All are available from our organic online store now with delivery available Australia wide.

Cellar Door Sales
As we sell direct to you, at our cellar door or through our vegan online shop, our vegan wine delivery prices and quality are better than anywhere in Perth. Open from Thursday to Monday 11am to 4.30pm. Tuesday, Wednesday by appointment.

Vegan Wine Staff

predators
Race Horse Lizard-Organic Pest Control
mantis
Praying Mantis-Deputy, Insect Repellent
Spider
Golden Orb-Organic Insect Catcher